Posted by: SLS | May 26, 2011

The future

There’s been a lot of new developments since my last post and I’m feeling rather guilty for not updating anything in a long long time so this is my concession to begin blogging again. And if anyone reads this, they can understand that the dialogue potentially will become much more present tense and less speculative as it evolves to fit with what I will be doing for the next 3 years.

At the end of this past March, I was offered a position to become a PhD student at the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Germany to work in a project on hominin dietary ecology. Thus, I traveled most of March and since returning, I’ve spend my weekends catching up with family and friends or slowly consolidating the components of my life here in Texas to prepare for a complete uproot and transplant into a foreign country, leaving behind much of what is important and dear to me. However, I cannot be more thrilled and honored at this opportunity.

In addition to full time research, I want to pick up some side hobbies and activities, one being my sport, kayak polo. I’ve begun practicing again and I think it will lead to full scale training. The European teams are far more competitive than all of North America and the Germans are among the top players in the world, with the men’s and women’s squad regularly placing at the World Champs. Thankfully, there is a club in the city in which I’ll be living. Time permitting, I hope to train with them and employ new nutritional and conditioning tactics that were previously unknown to me when I was competitive. Keeping in the theme of this blog, I want to test my performance in sport using training to specifically enhance muscle fiber type II expression. An anaerobic environment will be key in this endeavor and I want to outline on here what my nutrition will be as well as training using the science literature for justification.

I hope it is fruitful and interesting! The problem I already foresee is having too many balls in the air at once and becoming a completely unproductive yet obsessive researcher (can and does happen!). In the meantime, I have a couple draft posts that I’ve made over the last months that I will endeavor to publish, as well as follow up with the insulin article series (Though, honestly, I feel that I’ve over spent my time in this since hammering critiques at online luminaries isn’t a very noble endeavor, especially if it receives no real consideration. There are also just way too many people to argue with on the internet). After I finish the backlog of stuff I’ve started, then I can sit down and detail a plan of attack towards my athletic training and get back to doing more research synthesis, something I enjoy most :)

Responses

  1. Hey Steph,
    Reading your postings really helps me understand the direction of your research endeavors and the processing of your ideas. You inspire my feeble attempts at shaping up physically and cognitively.

  2. Hi Steph,
    You mom forwarded this to me and I found it quite interesting. Please add me to your e-mail list as I’d like to hear all about what you have to say.Congrats on your new life and new horizons and new goals in Germany. Where will you be living and studying?


Leave a Reply

Categories